Shopping Cart
Your shopping cart is empty!

What is Colour Therapy?

Colour can affect moods and emotions and even how one thinks. Colour is prevalent in retail stores to influence consumer behaviour and colour plays a major part in advertising. Architects take care when determining the colours used on structures. The interior of our homes are subject to many test paint patches until we feel the colour it is right. So if you can relate to any of these actions, you already use colour as therapy!

Colour Therapy involves using the seven colours of the spectrum (Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange and Red) and aims to stimulate our body’s own healing process while rejuvenating and balancing our body’s energy centres, known as Chakras.

Each of the seven colours of the spectrum coexists with one of the main seven Chakras. When one of these Chakras is experiencing difficulty, applying the appropriate colour to the body can cleanse and re-balance the Chakra energy to operate at optimum frequency. In addition, each of these Chakras connects to our physical anatomy, emotions, feelings and thoughts.

Colour Therapy is used to treat our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual bodies. Colour Therapy may involve exposure to coloured lights, visualising vibrant clear colours, wearing coloured clothing and even eating naturally coloured foods and more.

Below is each colour and the Chakra it relates to:
Violet/Gold/White - Crown
Indigo - Third Eye/Brow
Blue - Throat
Green - Heart
Yellow - Solar Plexus
Orange - Sacral
Red – Base

So next time you feel like wearing a certain colour or painting your walls yellow, perhaps ask yourself, why?